IGNITION INTERLOCK DEVICES
In Utah, if the Driver License Division (DLD) or Court orders that a driver is ignition interlock restricted, that driver shall have their driving privilege suspended until they have had an ignition interlock device installed in their vehicle and paid a reinstatement fee to the DLD. Even if your license is suspended and you cannot legally driver, if you still have access to a car, Utah requires that you install an Interlock Device on that car.
If the ignition interlock device is removed during the ignition interlock restriction period, the DLD will re-suspended that driver’s license until the ignition interlock device is re-installed and an additional reinstatement fee is paid.
Ignition interlock system providers and installers will be certified by the DLD and will be required to submit electronic notice of installation and removal of an ignition interlock device in a vehicle to the DLD. These providers usually charge the driver around a $100.00 a month to monitor the device once it is installed. That means if the DLD or Court orders that you are ignition interlock restricted for a period of two years, you can expect to pay in excess of $2,400.00 to an interlock provider.
While the cost of having an ignition interlock device installed on your car may be burdensome, if you operate a vehicle without an ignition interlock device installed, in violation of Utah Code Ann. § 41-6a-518.2, you will be charged with a Class B Misdemeanor and your driver’s license will be suspended for an additional year pursuant to Utah Code Ann. § 53-3-220.